This is where I live!

IMG_0046

Camden Harbor (directly behind the doofy guy’s head)

Today, I clambered to the top of Mount Battie, or Camden’s K2 as I will henceforth refer to it.* Honestly, it was a pretty tough ascent; granted I haven’t hiked or exercised since the internet was invented, but even an experienced hiker lady I came across kindly conceded that it was “somewhat challenging.”

Atop the towering peak, I learned that one Ms. Edna St. Vincent Millay (I’m seriously contemplating changing my name to Johnny St. Vincent Millay now) had composed her famous poem “Renascence” on that very site in 1912. After some Wikipedia sleuthing, I discovered that Ms. Millay was the first woman to win a Pulitzer Prize for Poetry. Since I know you’re all dying to read a 97 year old poem, below is a portion of her Mount Battie rhyme. Click here if you’d like to read the whole piece, it actually takes a turn from bucolic to surreal and existential and basically awesome.

All I could see from where I stood
Was three long mountains and a wood;
I turned and looked another way,
And saw three islands in a bay.
So with my eyes I traced the line
Of the horizon, thin and fine,
Straight around till I was come
Back to where I’d started from;
And all I saw from where I stood
Was three long mountains and a wood.
Over these things I could not see:
These were the things that bounded me.

mount battie view

IMG_0032

*Elevation of K2 = 28,251 ft, elevation of Mount Battie = nearly 800 ft.

Leave a Reply

